A closer look

Optimum Nutrition vs Legion

A whey protein powder and a pre-workout serve different purposes; the comparison is about their formats and labels.

A comparison of specific listings—not every product each brand makes.

Start with the purpose. These listings are not automatically interchangeable. We don’t declare a winner; check labels, serving details and applicable terms for yourself.

The details

Compare the details

No rating or declared winner

On smaller screens, scroll horizontally to see every product column. Listings can serve different purposes and are not automatically substitutes.

Optimum Nutrition vs Legion: published information for individual product listings
Compare the factsProtein Powders
Legion AthleticsLegion Pulse Pre-Workout
Pre-Workout
OverviewOptimum Nutrition's live US listing showed Banana Cream, 29 servings (2 lb), at a $74.49 USD one-time price when checked. The exact selected package label states 24 g protein per 31 g serving; this entry records manufacturer and certifier statements, not an independent efficacy assessment.Legion Pulse is an actively listed, flavored powdered pre-workout from Legion Athletics. The official Fruit Punch 20-serving facts image states a 2-scoop (23.5 g) serving and lists six quantified active ingredients. Legion's product page displays a $34.99 one-time offer alongside a $49.99 estimated market value; embedded variant data and the flavor selector did not allow that offer to be reliably tied to a chosen flavor. Manufacturer performance and testing statements are company claims, not evidence that this specific finished product has demonstrated the advertised effects in a product-level clinical trial.
StatusAvailable at last check

The observed manufacturer offer is not a guarantee of inventory or checkout.

Source information checked .

Available at last check

The observed manufacturer offer is not a guarantee of inventory or checkout.

Source information checked .

FormPowderPowder
Serving size31 g (about 1 scoop); 29 servings per selected 2 lb container.2 scoops (23.5 g); 20 servings per container, according to the official Fruit Punch facts image.
Selected ingredients
  • added sugars: 0 g
  • calcium: 140 mg (10% DV)
  • calories: 120 kcal
  • cholesterol: 55 mg
  • potassium: 150 mg (4% DV)
  • protein: 24 g
  • saturated fat: 1 g
  • sodium: 130 mg
  • total carbohydrate: 4 g
  • total fat: 1.5 g
  • total sugars: 2 g

Selected ingredients only; this is not the complete label.

  • Alpha-Glyceryl Phosphoryl Choline (GPC) 50%: 300 mg
  • Beta Alanine: 3.6 g
  • Betaine Anhydrous: 2.5 g
  • Caffeine Anhydrous: 350 mg
  • L-Citrulline DL-Malate 2:1: 8 g
  • L-Theanine: 350 mg

Selected ingredients only; this is not the complete label.

Label detailsSelected ingredients: added sugars: 0 g; calcium: 140 mg (10% DV); calories: 120 kcal; cholesterol: 55 mg; potassium: 150 mg (4% DV); protein: 24 g; saturated fat: 1 g; sodium: 130 mg; total carbohydrate: 4 g; total fat: 1.5 g; total sugars: 2 g. Selected values transcribed from the full official image for this specific flavor/package; this is not a full label transcription, and values/formula may vary by flavor or package. Values below are per 31 g serving unless specified. Not stated on the selected label; only total protein is quantified here.

View recorded label

Selected ingredients: Alpha-Glyceryl Phosphoryl Choline (GPC) 50%: 300 mg; Beta Alanine: 3.6 g; Betaine Anhydrous: 2.5 g; Caffeine Anhydrous: 350 mg; L-Citrulline DL-Malate 2:1: 8 g; L-Theanine: 350 mg. Selected values transcribed from the complete official Supplement Facts image for Fruit Punch, 20 servings; this is not a claim that every currently offered flavor has an identical full label. These amounts are the label declarations, not independently measured values. The manufacturer page describes six active ingredients; the listed label image supplies the specific amounts above.

View recorded label

AllergensContains milk; Contains soyUnknown: no allergen statement was visible in the official facts image reviewed; do not infer allergen-free status.
FlavorBanana Cream (label marked artificially flavored)Fruit Punch is the flavor named on the official 20-serving facts image. The live product page's flavor selector did not render a reliably confirmable selected flavor; flavor for the displayed offer is therefore unknown.
Dietary claims
  • Gluten-free
  • Gluten free
  • Banned substance tested

Claims are source-reported, not a determination of suitability.

Not disclosed in structured listing data.
  • Manufacturer claims the product is naturally sweetened and flavored.
  • Manufacturer claims no sugar and no artificial sweeteners, artificial flavors, food dyes, or fillers; these are company marketing statements.
  • The reviewed Fruit Punch image lists erythritol and stevia leaf extract as sweetener ingredients and natural flavors; no independently verified vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, or other diet suitability claim was established.

Claims are source-reported, not a determination of suitability.

Certification records
  • Name: Informed Choice

    Recorded status: verified

    Scope: For the catalog entry Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey, Informed Choice lists 'ON Gold Standard 100% Whey' at the product level. The entry does not specify the selected Banana Cream flavor, package size, or lot.

    Verifier: Informed Choice; Status: verified; Directory observation checked_at: 2026-11-06 UTC, not an expiration date. This verifies the named product-level directory entry, not the selected flavor, container, or lot.

    Official verifier record

Check the verifier’s current record and exact product variant; a brand claim alone is not independent verification.

  • Name: Labdoor

    Recorded status: unverified

    Scope: Legion's product page claims that Pulse is independently certified by Labdoor for purity and accuracy and to meet or exceed FDA safety guidelines. Labdoor's product review page publishes measured-versus-claimed ingredient and contaminant data; that is not the same as verification of every current flavor or lot.

    The Labdoor certification-detail URL was opened, but the retrieved page did not expose a clear current certificate/scope entry. Legion also says its product is made in NSF-certified facilities; that facility statement is not NSF product certification. No product-level NSF certification was verified in the official directory. Research status: claimed; certification scope/current lot not independently confirmed.

    Official verifier record

  • Name: NSF Certified for Sport

    Recorded status: unverified

    Scope: Product-level status for Legion Pulse not verified. Legion's product page refers to NSF-certified manufacturing facilities, which is distinct from the finished product being NSF Certified for Sport.

    The official NSF directory was opened; the directory page describes its search but an affirmative Pulse product entry was not independently established. Research status: unknown.

    Official verifier record

Check the verifier’s current record and exact product variant; a brand claim alone is not independent verification.

Listed features
  • Manufacturer describes it as a whey-protein powder blend with whey protein isolate as the primary source.
  • The selected label lists whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate, and hydrolyzed whey protein in a protein blend; it does not disclose component quantities.
  • Selected 31 g label reports 24 g protein; its values are flavor/package-specific.

Source-reported statements can include manufacturer claims. For certifications, consult the record above for status, scope and verifier link.

  • Powdered pre-workout; official label lists six quantified active ingredients and no proprietary blend is indicated in the reviewed facts image.

Source-reported statements can include manufacturer claims. For certifications, consult the record above for status, scope and verifier link.

Potential positives
  • An official manufacturer label image for the exact observed Banana Cream 2 lb variant is available.
  • A legible official 20-serving product facts image is available and lists serving size and specific ingredient amounts.
  • Legion's live U.S. product page showed a one-time offer and links to seller-stated refund and subscription terms.
Things to consider
  • Individual whey ingredient amounts are not listed on the selected label; do not infer isolate/concentrate/hydrolysate ratios from ingredient order.
  • Package-specific claims and nutrition values should not be generalized to all flavors, sizes, markets, or lots.
  • The label image reviewed is Fruit Punch, while the live flavor selection and price data were inconsistent; it may not describe every flavor/package.
  • Caffeine is declared at 350 mg per labeled serving; this is a reported label fact, not a suitability recommendation.
Price & termsListed price: $74.49 USD

$74.49, one-time purchase for the 29-serving, 2 lb Banana Cream package; tax excluded. USD; official page displayed Sale price and One-time price $74.49 for Banana Cream, 29 Servings (2 lb), with a displayed $2.56 price per serving. Page says tax excluded; price may change and is not a checkout guarantee.

Package size, serving count, purchase type, shipping, taxes and current price can differ.

No comparable price recorded

The official product page displayed $34.99 and $1.75 per serving, while describing $49.99 as estimated market value. This was treated as a one-time displayed offer for a 20-serving package, not a confirmed flavor-specific checkout total: embedded variation data showed $49.99 and the page did not reliably reflect the requested flavor selection. See blockers.

Package size, serving count, purchase type, shipping, taxes and current price can differ.

Purchase & returnsAvailability qualifier: Live product listing and price observed; inventory and final shipping/tax total not confirmed. Observed purchase option: One-time purchase displayed at $74.49 USD for the selected package/flavor. Returns: Official policy says direct-site dietary-supplement returns are accepted only if 75% or more remains unused, the return reaches ON within 30 days of purchase, and the buyer provides the order number; the buyer is instructed to call for authorization before sending. Policy: https://www.optimumnutrition.com/en-us/pages/returns-policy Subscription: The official page advertised 20% off and free shipping on subscription orders. The page also exposed subscription delivery controls; subscription cadence, cancellation, skip, and renewal terms were not verified in this check. The one-time amount above is not the advertised subscription offer.Official Subscribe & Save information says subscriptions save up to 30%, renew automatically every 30, 60, or 90 days, and can be skipped, paused, or canceled anytime. The product page and subscription page state a money-back/full-refund guarantee without return required. These are seller-stated terms; subscription was not selected for the displayed one-time offer.
Source information checked
Sources & limitations
Explore further

How to read the differences

Start with your requirements.

The notes below describe the records, not proven equivalence or ingredients proven absent. Different sources may describe formulas and serving sizes at different levels of detail.

Compare the purpose and form

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey: Powder. Optimum Nutrition's live US listing showed Banana Cream, 29 servings (2 lb), at a $74.49 USD one-time price when checked. The exact selected package label states 24 g protein per 31 g serving; this entry records manufacturer and certifier statements, not an independent efficacy assessment.

Legion Pulse Pre-Workout: Powder. Legion Pulse is an actively listed, flavored powdered pre-workout from Legion Athletics. The official Fruit Punch 20-serving facts image states a 2-scoop (23.5 g) serving and lists six quantified active ingredients. Legion's product page displays a $34.99 one-time offer alongside a $49.99 estimated market value; embedded variant data and the flavor selector did not allow that offer to be reliably tied to a chosen flavor. Manufacturer performance and testing statements are company claims, not evidence that this specific finished product has demonstrated the advertised effects in a product-level clinical trial.

A shared category or form does not mean two products serve the same purpose.

Read the complete label

The selected ingredient lists do not share an identical label in the recorded data.

These are partial lists, not evidence that an ingredient is absent from another formula. Check amounts, serving sizes, allergens and variant-specific labels.

Check availability

Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey: Available at last check. Checked .

Legion Pulse Pre-Workout: Available at last check. Checked .

A last-checked status is not a guarantee of current stock. Read any product-specific status notes in the table.

Understand the pricing terms

Only some records include a numeric USD price. This alone is not enough for a direct price comparison.

Container size, serving count, subscription terms, shipping and taxes can differ. Check the individual pricing notes.

Your needs make the choice.

Use this comparison to explore, not to pick a universal winner. Review each product’s source notes and limitations and check the complete label for the variant you are considering. The checked dates show when the source information was reviewed; this is not a hands-on test.